List of Puerto Rico governors from first to last

Puerto Rico became a part of the United States on December 10, 1898, as a result of the Treaty of Paris, which ended the Spanish-American War. Under this treaty, Spain ceded Puerto Rico, along with Guam and the Philippines, to the United States. This marked the beginning of Puerto Rico’s status as a U.S. territory. Since then, Puerto Rico has held a unique status as an unincorporated territory of the United States, with its residents becoming U.S. citizens in 1917 under the Jones-Shafroth Act.

Luis Muñoz Marín became the first elected governor of Puerto Rico on January 2, 1949.

Please note that this list only lists governors under the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

Here is a chronological list of the governors of Puerto Rico from First to last.

S/NNameTime in OfficeParty
1Luis Muñoz Marín1949 – 1965Popular Democratic Party
2Roberto Sanchez-Vilella1965 – 1969Popular Democratic Party
3Luis A. Ferré1969 – 1973New Progressive Party
4Carlos Romero-Barcelo1977 – 1985New Progressive Party
5Rafael Hernandez-Colon1985 – 1993, 1973 – 1977Popular Democratic Party
6Pedro Rosselló1993 – 2001New Progressive Party
7Sila M. Calderon2001 – 2005Popular Democratic Party
8Anibal Acevedo Vilá2005 – 2009Popular Democratic Party
9Luis G. Fortuño2009 – 2013New Progressive Party
10Alejandro García Padilla2013 – 2017Popular Democratic Party
11Ricardo Rosselló2017 – 2019New Progressive Party of Puerto Rico (PNP)
12Wanda Vázquez Garced2019 – 2021New Progressive
13Pedro Pierluisi2021 – New Progressive

Leave a Comment