List of Alaska governors from first to last

Alaska joined the Union on January 3, 1959. It became the 49th state of the United States. It is the largest state in the U.S. by area, encompassing vast wilderness, mountains, forests, and glaciers. It contains 17 of the 20 highest peaks in the United States, including Denali, the highest peak in North America.

William Allen Egan became the first governor of the state of Alaska on January 3, 1959.

Here is a chronological list of the governors of Alaska from first to last.

GovernorTerm StartTerm EndParty
William A. EganJanuary 3, 1959December 5, 1966Democratic
Wally HickelDecember 5, 1966January 29, 1969Republican
Keith Harvey MillerJanuary 29, 1969December 7, 1970Republican
William A. EganDecember 7, 1970December 2, 1974Democratic
Jay HammondDecember 2, 1974December 6, 1982Republican
Bill SheffieldDecember 6, 1982December 1, 1986Democratic
Steve CowperDecember 1, 1986December 3, 1990Democratic
Wally HickelDecember 3, 1990December 5, 1994Alaskan Independence
Tony KnowlesDecember 5, 1994December 2, 2002Democratic
Frank MurkowskiDecember 2, 2002December 4, 2006Republican
Sarah PalinDecember 4, 2006July 26, 2009Republican
Sean ParnellJuly 26, 2009December 1, 2014Republican
Bill WalkerDecember 1, 2014December 3, 2018Independent
Mike DunleavyDecember 3, 2018Republican

Leave a Comment